A vintage style red dress

I’m so behind! This dress was made a couple of months ago and I’m only getting round to posting now! Hopefully better late than never!

So I love a bit of vintage. Women always looked a bit more glamorous and put together back in the day. Definitely not a bad thing to try to replicate! I picked out a 50s style Burda pattern to try out the look using a red cotton I bought in Paris.


  

This is the original pattern. I decided not to add any sleeves to it and made a facing instead to finish the edges. It felt like waaaaaay too much print with the sleeve! I definitely need to make another one in a simpler fabric with a sleeve though. It’s such a cute silhouette!

So all in all, it’s a great summer dress – it’s just a shame it’s not summer anymore…

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That is such a cute fabric! The dress looks lovely on you! Great job!

  2. Skarmony says:

    Wow! It looks fantastic! Definitely putting this pattern on my wish list 🙂

  3. maiattique says:

    Beautiful dress and very Summery.

Leave a comment