My IKEA MOPPE drawer hack (kind of)

When I saw this box of drawers in IKEA I knew it’ll make the perfect sewing box for the windowsill in my sewing room. It comes in a raw wood finish and from the displays, IKEA really encourage you to get creative and customise them. Perfect!

Unfortunately I didn’t make great choices in round one… There’s no photographic evidence of that one so you’ll have to take my word for it!

I tried some decoupage type thing and it left the drawers all really sticky and I hated the copper paint I used on the exterior. Overall it was an epic fail and beyond saving in my opinion. At least they’re cheap enough that I was quite happy (kind of) to toss that one and try again!

Second time’s a charm!

This time I chose more wisely (I think) in order to get an outcome I could actually live with. I’ve left the exterior raw for now with the idea of painting some sort of pattern on it in white should I find something I like. The drawers have been painted with chalkboard paint. I figured this would be a nice way to label the drawers as well as adding decorations that I could change easily should I get fed up with it in future!

   
 A word of advice? Go simple. The plain chalkboard paint finish ended up being so much better than when I threw everything at it! Or maybe that was just a horrific lack of planning on my part…

Leave a Reply

