Tilly and the Buttons – Orla and Bettine

I have a bunch of patterns that I got whilst working at Tilly and the Buttons and I’ve only now gotten round to making some of them!

If you’re new to the indie sewing pattern world, Tilly makes patterns which are striking in design with straight talking instructions. They are very much intended for beginner or improver sewers.

I decided to get stuck into 2 patterns first – the Bettine dress which is one of their best selling items and the Orla top which is the latest release from her (that’s one the patterns I got to help out on!).

Bettine is a very simple pattern. I’d imagine any experienced dressmaker could whip it up in an hour or two. Even for a brand new sewer, I think they’d be able to achieve very good results pretty easily and quickly.

So my first Bettine dress is made of a light pinky-beige lace fabric. Not one of their recommended fabrics to use but I wanted to see how it would turn out. And it was absolutely fine to work with. The only change I made was to not interface the facings because you’d be able to see the white through the lace. Totally see through but I was planning to wear a slip underneath it…

   
 The second Bettine I altered a fair bit. I enlarged the armholes, I turned the pocket version skirt into a wrap style skirt and I added a sash. Was there a reason for all this? Yes and no. The sleeve thing was so it would look better on me – I have quite chunky arms- but the rest was just to see if I could…

   
  Orla is a pretty blouse pattern meant for lightweight woven fabrics with an exposed zip and an optional curved collar. This pattern was finalised and produced during my internship at TATB so I was a little bit more invested in this one and had been dying for a chance to make my own! I chose two contrasting fabrics – a coral red for the body and a navy blue for the collar and zip (I love that colour combo!). I bedazzled the collar with some hand stitched acrylic beads to make the collar pop even more.

   
 A recent post on TATB shows how to make the Orla top into a dress which looks very cute. Definitely one to try in the future!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. maiattique says:

    Hello Emmy 🙂 I’ve just bounced over here from the PatternRunway contest that you entered! Ooh I love your blouse, especially the use of colour combo and embellishment. So inspiring!

Leave a Reply

