Tee off…

Every now and then I peer into my wardrobe first thing in the morning and realise there is nothing for me to wear to work… Well there’s stuff. Just nothing I fancy wearing that day…

I’m one of the lucky people who can get away with wearing jeans and a tee to work as I wear scrubs over the top. And with winter winds blasting through, long sleeve tees are a must.

I guess I could’ve easily bought a couple from the shops but where’s the fun in that? So of course I decided to do them myself! I figured I’ll give my best shot at trying a raglan sleeve for the first time too.

For the pattern, I spent ages looking at old raglan tees I had and reading up on it. In the end though, I cut up one to use as a basic pattern and altered it to get the fit I wanted- totes cheating I know… But here’s the result!

Raglan!
Raglan!

So I managed to make things a little interesting with the faux leather detail on one and with the contrast sleeves on the other. Both are made with the same grey jersey body. The edges were finished using a twin needle so it’s really far from perfect. I can’t wait for the day when I can get my own cover stitch machine! I use so much jersey I’m sure it’ll be worth it… Right?

I love being able to wear stuff I’ve made in more everyday basic situations. Kinda makes me feel like one day soon everything in the wardrobe will be done by me too and my challenge will be complete! But if nothing else, these are very fit for purpose.

Materials:-

Fabric: grey jersey, £2/m; black jersey £2/m; faux leather, scrap from previous project, all from Walthamstow market.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. MsTegan says:

    I LOVE these. Raglan sleeves are my new favourite, I think the faux-leather really adds something! I too peer into my closet packed with clothes and think I have nothing to wear too.

    1. Emmy says:

      Thanks! I’m glad you like them!

      1. MsTegan says:

        I’m going to link this post on my blog tomorrow. It is relevant to my post and who knows maybe all 2 of my viewers will visit your blog too! 😉

Leave a Reply

