Challenge Accepted!

Over the bank holiday weekend, I decided on a new project to challenge myself with…

I am going to create a wardrobe of clothes and accessories so that by the end of 2013 I am only wearing stuff that I have personally made. I figured it’ll make me learn more sewing, pattern drafting and designing skills and force me to make stuff that I’ve always been a bit scared of trying, i.e. coats and jackets, jeans etc… I’m also going to try my hand at some leatherwork for bags and belts and to knit my own jumpers.

I’m talking about making everything I’d be wearing except maybe shoes, socks and tights- which might be a bit too much for me to do. :s

So I’ve made a list of essentials I need to make (if you think I’ve missed any, let me know):

  • 14 pairs of knickers
  • 7 bras
  • 2 pairs of jeans
  • 1 pair fitted trousers
  • a LBD
  • 1 pencil skirt
  • 5 vests/ tees
  • a couple of blouses
  • 1 blazer
  • 1 pair of shorts
  • 1 winter coat
  • A couple of jumpers/ cardigans
  • Pyjamas!

On top of those I’ll probably make a bunch of summer dresses and skirts and other bits and bobs depending on fashion trends and the like. It’ll be a test as to how fast I can go from seeing something I like and reproducing it before it goes out of fashion…

So this is what my wardrobe looks like at the moment:

DSCF0673

(Kinda bare)

Over time, it’ll be filled with some hand made stuff. I am going to cheat a little and include stuff that I’ve made in the past (that I still wear at any rate) so I’ve given myself a small head start. I’ll need all the help I can get!

As I post I’m also going to try to put up costs of fabrics used so that I can total it up at the end to see how it costs to make it yourself versus buying from the high street… Hopefully it’ll show us all that it is worth putting in the effort to do it yourself!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

